

To: All members of the Environment and Sustainability Committee

Please reply to:Contact:Chris CurtisService:Committee ServicesDirect line:01784 446240E-mail:c.curtis@spelthorne.gov.ukDate:29 June 2021

Supplementary Agenda

Environment and Sustainability Committee - Wednesday, 30 June 2021

Dear Councillor

I enclose the following item for the Environment and Sustainability Committee meeting to be held on Wednesday, 30 June 2021:

7. Formation of Strategic Planning Task Groups

3 - 6

The Chair would like to propose an amendment to the membership of the Local Plan Task Group outlined in the Terms of Reference (Appendix A) on page 25 of the main agenda. Further information is attached for consideration.

Yours sincerely

Chris Curtis Corporate Governance

To the members of the Environment and Sustainability Committee

Councillors:

I.J. Beardsmore (Chairman) O. Rybinski (Vice-Chairman) J.T.F. Doran T. Fidler N.J. Gething M. Gibson K.M. Grant N. Islam T. Lagden V.J. Leighton J. McIlroy S.C. Mooney R.J. Noble J.R. Sexton V. Siva

Spelthorne Borough Council, Council Offices, Knowle Green

Staines-upon-Thames TW18 1XB

LOCAL PLAN TASK GROUP – CHAIRMAN'S PROPOSAL

15 members politically proportioned as far as possible consisting of Chair and Vice Chair of Environment and Sustainability Committee and one member from each ward.

Below is the proportionality (which comes to 16) so either the Conservatives or Lib Dems/Green would need to lose a seat:

Conservative 7	Independent Group 1 (Beardsmore)
Lib Dems/Green 3	Independent Labour 1 (Siva or Vinson)
USG 2 (Rybinski +)	Independent Spelthorne 1 (Sexton or Smith-Ainsley)
Labour 1 (Either of Dorans)	

WARD	NAME	PARTY
	lan Beardsmore (Chair)	Independent Gp
	Olivia Rybinski (Vice Chair)	USG (1)
Ashford Common	Clare Barratt Richard Barratt Bob Noble	Conservative (1) Ward members to agree who will sit on LPTG.
Ashford East	John Boughtflower Rose Chandler Tony Mitchell	Conservative (2) Ward members to agree who will sit on LPTG.
Ashford North & Stanwell South	Amar Brar Sati Buttar Jo Sexton	USG Conservative Ind Spelthorne Decision will need to take account of political proportionality
Ashford Town	Nick Gething Naz Islam Olivia Rybinski* (Vice Chair above)	Conservative (3) Conservative USG Conservative ward members to agree who will sit on LPTG
Halliford & Sunbury West	Sandra Dunn Tom Fidler Lawrence Nichols	Lib Dem/Green Ward members to agree who will sit on LPTG
Laleham & Shepperton Green	Maureen Attewell Mary Madams Richard Smith-Ainsley	Conservative Conservative Ind Spelthorne Decision will need to take account of political proportionality
Riverside and Laleham	Michele Gibson Tony Harman Denise Saliagopoulos ** (Political seat	Conservative (4) Conservative Independent Gp

	already taken by Chair)	Conservative ward members to agree
		who will sit on LPTG
Shepperton Town	Colin Barnard	Conservative (5)
	Vivienne Leighton	Conservative ward
	Robin Sider, BEM	members to agree
		who will sit on LPTG
Staines	Tom Lagden	Lib Dem/Green
	Veena Siva	Independent Labour
	Vacant	Decision will need to
		take account of
		political
		proportionality
Staines South	Chris Bateson	Lib Dem
	Sinead Mooney	Conservative
	Jenny Vinson	Independent Labour
		Decision will need to
		take account of
		political
		proportionality
Stanwell North	John Doran	proportionality Labour
Stanwell North	John Doran Sue Doran	
Stanwell North		Labour
Stanwell North	Sue Doran	Labour Labour
Stanwell North	Sue Doran Jim McIlroy *** (Only ward with Labour	Labour Labour Conservative
Stanwell North	Sue Doran Jim McIlroy *** (Only ward with Labour	Labour Labour Conservative Labour ward
Stanwell North	Sue Doran Jim McIlroy *** (Only ward with Labour	Labour Labour Conservative Labour ward members to agree
	Sue Doran Jim McIlroy ***(Only ward with Labour representation)	Labour Labour Conservative Labour ward members to agree who will sit on LPTG
	Sue Doran Jim McIlroy *** representation) Ian Beardsmore (Chair – see above)	Labour Labour Conservative Labour ward members to agree who will sit on LPTG Independent Group
	Sue Doran Jim McIlroy ***(Only ward with Labour representation) Ian Beardsmore (Chair – see above) Richard Dunn	Labour Labour Conservative Labour ward members to agree who will sit on LPTG Independent Group Lib Dem/Green
	Sue Doran Jim McIlroy ***(Only ward with Labour representation) Ian Beardsmore (Chair – see above) Richard Dunn	Labour Labour Conservative Labour ward members to agree who will sit on LPTG Independent Group Lib Dem/Green Lib Dem/Green
	Sue Doran Jim McIlroy ***(Only ward with Labour representation) Ian Beardsmore (Chair – see above) Richard Dunn	Labour Labour Conservative Labour ward members to agree who will sit on LPTG Independent Group Lib Dem/Green Lib Dem/Green Lib Dem/Green ward
	Sue Doran Jim McIlroy ***(Only ward with Labour representation) Ian Beardsmore (Chair – see above) Richard Dunn	Labour Labour Conservative Labour ward members to agree who will sit on LPTG Independent Group Lib Dem/Green Lib Dem/Green Lib Dem/Green ward members to agree
Sunbury Common	Sue DoranJim McIlroy ***representation)Ian BeardsmoreIan BeardsmoreRichard DunnBernie Spoor	Labour Labour Conservative Labour ward members to agree who will sit on LPTG Independent Group Lib Dem/Green Lib Dem/Green Lib Dem/Green ward members to agree who will sit on LPTG
Sunbury Common	 Sue Doran Jim McIlroy ***(Only ward with Labour representation) Jan Beardsmore (Chair – see above) Richard Dunn Bernie Spoor Kathy Grant 	Labour Labour Conservative Labour ward members to agree who will sit on LPTG Independent Group Lib Dem/Green Lib Dem/Green Lib Dem/Green ward members to agree who will sit on LPTG Lib Dem
Sunbury Common	 Sue Doran Jim McIlroy ***(Only ward with Labour representation) Jan Beardsmore (Chair – see above) Richard Dunn Bernie Spoor Kathy Grant Helen Harvey 	Labour Labour Conservative Labour ward members to agree who will sit on LPTG Independent Group Lib Dem/Green Lib Dem/Green ward members to agree who will sit on LPTG Lib Dem USG
Sunbury Common	 Sue Doran Jim McIlroy ***(Only ward with Labour representation) Jan Beardsmore (Chair – see above) Richard Dunn Bernie Spoor Kathy Grant Helen Harvey 	Labour Labour Conservative Labour ward members to agree who will sit on LPTG Independent Group Lib Dem/Green Lib Dem/Green ward members to agree who will sit on LPTG Lib Dem USG USG
Sunbury Common	 Sue Doran Jim McIlroy ***(Only ward with Labour representation) Jan Beardsmore (Chair – see above) Richard Dunn Bernie Spoor Kathy Grant Helen Harvey 	Labour Labour Conservative Labour ward members to agree who will sit on LPTG Independent Group Lib Dem/Green Lib Dem/Green ward members to agree who will sit on LPTG Lib Dem USG USG USG Decision will need to

- * = Chair or Vice Chair already on list
- ** = Political group seat already taken
- *** = Labour are only represented in that ward

Cllr Ian Harvey, as Mayor, can't sit on a Committee but could be a member of the task group so has been included on the list.

If the format is agreed the following actions will be needed:

• The ward members will need to agree between them who will represent them on the Local Plan Task Group, including those where only one party is represented. Where there is a mix of

political groups, collaboration will be required to ensure overall political proportionality is achieved.

- Conservatives have 1 or 2 seats to appoint a representative, in addition to those where they are the only ward members, depending on the agreed political allocation from Ashford North & Stanwell South, Laleham & Shepperton Green, or Staines South
- Lib Dems/Green may have an additional seat, depending on political allocation from Staines, Staines South or Sunbury East
- USG have 1 seat left (Ashford North & Stanwell South or Sunbury East)
- Independent Labour 1 (Staines or Staines South)
- Independent Spelthorne 1 (Ashford North & Stanwell South or Laleham & Shepperton Green)

This page is intentionally left blank